Completely Out of Control

I sorted my Netflix instant queue yesterday afternoon.  Sorting by genre makes me feel like I am exerting some sort of control in an out of control world, like I have some power in my life and how I spend my afternoons on a paid holiday from work.  Never mind that it could be better spent helping the homeless, going for a walk in the glorious autumn weather, or writing that novel I keep talking about.  We all have our moments of glory, and my Netflix queue is mine.

Anyway, I have 333 films and shows in my queue, ranging from children’s films about Joseph to horror movies about bloody serial killers.  I feel this will be the year.  I’m going to watch them all.  I’m not going to add any films to my instant queue, I’m just going to watch what I have.  I wonder, is it possible to do this in one year?  I think I’ll give myself some wiggle room.  Instead of starting in January I’ll start right now, giving myself almost two extra months.

Did I ever give you an update on how I’ve been doing with reducing my stuff?  Well, it’s going great.  Things feel lighter, and I really enjoy buying something because I actually need it, not because I feel some borderline hoarder instinct to Have and Buy because I may Need It Later.  It feels good to trust that I will have the means to get what I need when I need it, and it’s helped me to better understand the difference between a need and a want.  Also, I joined Nerd Wars on Ravelry so I am using up lots of yarn and getting Christmas knitting done.  It’s a great feeling.

Leave a comment