1.5.14

How is it already Sunday night?  I do hope I can get myself back into a schedule with the holidays behind us.

When do you take down your tree?  I wait until Epiphany, the twelfth day of Christmas, which is tomorrow.  I also don’t put up my tree until about 2 weeks before Christmas.  I feel like Christmas is so rushed, put up the tree right after Thanksgiving dinner, strip down all the beautiful ornaments on the 26th.  Too soon, too soon.

I practiced piano last night.  I haven’t really tried to play since I was young, 13 or 14 years old maybe.  I found that I still can read music easily, but I was stunned at how good I am!  Not to brag, I’m still pretty terrible, but much better than I would expect after a 20 year hiatus.  I always thought I was a poor player, but now I wonder.  If I can do this now, with no practice, maybe I was just too far into my own head to know how much potential I may have had.  I’m going to keep practicing, now that my teenage insecurity is gone.

Spinning took place today, too, for the first time since July.  Interesting.  I think this is a year to wrap it up, organize it, resolve the unresolved.

Leave a Reply

