And, it’s hot again.

We had a little rain yesterday.  And the day before.  And the day before.  This is what happens when the land dries up and then you get 4 inches in 4 hours.

I gave blood today.  It is one of the things I do with my time that I think is truly valuable.  I know that doing volunteer work in the community is important, but there is something about giving a piece of me to someone else that needs it that is so special.  I do think I got O-Negative blood on purpose.  It’s the universal donor, so anyone that needs blood can have mine.  It’s also in very high demand, so I get called in every 8 weeks on the nose.  I cannot stress enough the importance of joining your local Blood Bank and giving your blood.  It’s fine and good to write a check, but nothing beats giving a pint of healthy blood to someone who will surely die without it.  Go.  Join.  Do what you can.  It doesn’t hurt, and a little discomfort is nothing to the pain of a family losing someone they love because they needed blood.

I also took the time to join the bone marrow donor registry, for the same reasons I give blood.  It makes no sense that I have this great immune system and strong bones and blood and don’t share those advantages with others.  If you decide to donate blood and you get hooked on it like me, this may be your next step. 

And always, always make sure your license has you down as an organ donor.  It’s important.

Lots of fun scheduled for this weekend, hope to update with tons of pictures and stories!

Leave a Reply

