Saving money, increasing stash.

When’s the last time you went thrifting?  I don’t mean Goodwill or Salvation Army thrifting, I mean a real thrift shop that sells all kinds of everything.  We have this really cool thrift shop in the Stanton/Newport area, and last night I decided to take a look at what they may have for fabrics.  The place is an old grocery store, so it’s huge, and I figured they might have something.  I was mostly looking for heavyweight material like curtains or tablecloths, but I also figured some cute cotton prints couldn’t hurt to add to my fabric stash.  So I walk in, grab a shopping cart, and pick out a video for Stephen.  They have kids’ videos for a dollar each, and we have a tv that plays videos and dvds in the bedroom, so I always get him one when I go there.  I start to look at tablecloths and I realize they have fabric here!  I mean bolts of fabric, folded and hanging next to the curtains!  Some were priced $2.98, some $3.98, some didn’t have price tags at all.  I picked out four that I really liked and figured I could do something with and checked out.  The guy running the cash register couldn’t find the prices for two of them, so he just gave them to me.  Find me a Goodwill or Salvation Army that can do that.  Nope, they can’t.  I walked out with four bolts of fabric, a Winnie-the-Pooh video, and a Thomas the Tank Engine t-shirt for $5.25.  Yup.

So, when was the last time you went thrifting?

3 comments on “Saving money, increasing stash.

  1. Barb Plummer says:

    EXCELLENT!

  2. Eileen says:

    I know the store you mean. We used to go there all the time when we lived in the area. I had no idea they had fabric. I’ll have to check it out the next time I’m up that way.

    Don’t totally discount the Goodwill. My son found a totally cool Buzz Lightyear toy there last year. Eighteen inches tall with lights and buttons that made him talk and no price tag. The girl at the register said, “How about a quarter?” Score!

  3. Christina says:

    Please please tell me where this store is?? I live in N. Wilmington and swear sometimes I live with my head stuck in the ground ! I have never heard of such a place?? I found your blog through your ravelry page and yes I am aware this post was from June, but I must know where this fabulous jem of a thrift store is…the ones I have found are more antiquey and therefore more pricey usually.

    thanks
    Christina

Leave a Reply

