WWJD? I sure don’t know.

Hmmm, it’s the last Tuesday of January, the day I’ve dedicated to the NaBloPoMo theme “change,” and I don’t know what to say.

So many things are changing for me right now.  I just want to crawl under my blankets and wake up with all the hard work done and my life set up the way it’s supposed to be.  I understand that you are supposed to pray to God for advice and guidance when you are faced with a difficult decision, but what do you do when there is no answer?  I have been praying about the same question for 6 years now, and when no answer came the first time, I had to make the best decision I knew how to make.  I continue to pray for guidance, and I still don’t know what to do, even though the same problem exists and has shown no signs of alleviation.  I’m not trying to say that God doesn’t answer prayers, I’m asking what do you do when the problem that has been the subject of your prayers for years is reaching a head, and cannot continue on the same path without dire consequences for an innocent bystander?

I understand that if there is anything in your life that may cause you to be less of a Christian you are supposed to get rid of it, but what if that something is also something that the Bible says you should never get rid of?  I know I am talking in secret Bible code, and hopefully those of you that are well-versed in the Bible will understand what I’m talking about here. 

What should I do if change is forced upon me?  What if I think change is the best solution, but God hasn’t given me the go-ahead?  What if I never get the answer from Him, but instead continue to live in a desperate situation?  I need someone to tell me what to do, and tell me it will be okay in the long run.  I just don’t think I can continue under these circumstances.

3 comments on “WWJD? I sure don’t know.

  1. gimpykatk says:

    God does hear the prayers of His children and Answers them too. However His answers not always come in the way or time frame we expect them to. Abraham and Sarah prayed for many many many years for a son… they were in their 90’s when God finally answered. If you don’t get the answer then God knows we are not ready for it yet, His plans are perfect.

    As for the secret Bible code issue… change the way you pray. Don’t ask God for an answer, tell Him you are going to trust Him to open or shut doors when He sees fit and you will keep your eyes on Him and walk in His light. He will NEVER lead you down a wrong road or to a dead end. He always has a way. Thank Him for the answer He is providing, even if you can’t see it yet.

    Thank You Lord for being the I AM in these situations. bring peace through the storm and confidence in the unknown future. Bless your daughter as she leans on YOU for guidence and wisdom. Show her Your Awesome Power so that she will never doubt that You are in complete control. AMEN

  2. Barb Plummer says:

    You are carrying a heavy burden my friend. I believe that God protects the innocent and that He does answer our prayers, not always in our time frame and definately not always the way we want. How do you know you haven’t gotten an answer? Maybe it wasn’t the answer you thought you would get? I understand that there are sacred things in the Bible but we all have to be on the same page for those guidelines to apply. Get my drift? When I am facing MAJOR change, and you know I have, I get other strong Christians to interceed on my behalf. For me, when I have been praying for something for a long time sometimes I don’t choose the best words or I am praying too big. Hope this helps, hang in there, you know where I am if needed ANYTIME!

  3. Tim says:

    Greetings . . . I can not speak directly to what you are praying for, because I really do not know what it is that you are praying for. However, I can speak to a few things:
    First – thank you for being real and laying out there that something is going on and you do not know what to do, say or feel about the subject. I want to tell you that you are not alone. Many of us, even if we do not want to admit it, are in the same boat on other subjects or issues in our lives. So know you are alive and living and life is full of trouble.
    Second – I want to challenge you to place God and Religion in two different mental and for that matter spiritual camps. Know that God and Religion are not automatically together. Just look at Jesus’ converstaions with those who were “RELIGIOUS” in the Gospels.
    Third – If you are in harm, or your friend, or whoever. If there is abuse, be it whatever kind, you need to encourage protection. It is not a cross that you must bear, or anyone. Abuse because is not a cross. Abuse for being a follower Of Jesus, may be part of the story and death may be the result of following Jesus, but abuse is not a cross that you or any other must bear. I hope that makes sense. Find safety. or encourage safety.
    Fourth – Know that God is about forgiveness and restoration. Let God do his work. I am really off here, but lets say it is an issue of divorce. Well, the bible talks about God hating divorce. And that He does. It also talks about what God has joined together, let no man separate. So we know that bible talks stongly about divorce. However, divorce was premitted in the old testament as well as in the new testament. Why, because of the hardness of mens hearts. YOu know it takes two to tango right. But when one person is abusive and the other is abused, then in my mind I see one hard harted person. The abused person may desire love and give, and give and give with no let up in the abuse. Religion says, you must stay in that marriege, you made your bed, you should have known, you must have thought you could change them, or stomthing else stupid like that. Find safety.
    fifth – know that God does hear you and know exactly what is going on. Listen to those around you as well. Folks you can trust with your story. Ask for advice from folks that love you deeply. Seek wisdom, do not be locked into some theological possition that is harmful to you or others.
    Krista, I do not know what you are talking about as to your request directly. Just know that I am praying for you today. I do not know if any of my mental burp makes any sense. Know this Jesus is the good shephard, and sometimes religion is not that much about Jesus. Peace
    Tim

Leave a Reply

