Two-Needle Baby Sweater.

100_1605

Two-Needle Baby Sweater (February chapter), Knitter’s Almanac, Elizabeth Zimmermann

Caron Simply Soft Brites, Berry Blue

US 6 needles, straights and DPN’s

For a co-worker’s baby-to-be.

I must confess I altered this pattern a bit.  You are supposed to work each sleeve back and forth and then pick up the stitches for the body.  To make this completely seamless I chose to place the sleeve stitches on spare yarn, cast on the underarm stitches and knit the body.  After that I picked up the underarm stitches and the sleeve stitches on DPN’s and knit in the round.  I also picked up three stitches on either side of the yoke and knit i-cord for a tie rather than use buttons.  This was an aesthetic choice as well as a safety issue.  I wouldn’t want a phone call telling me a curious teething baby had eaten buttons off something I made them!

3 comments on “Two-Needle Baby Sweater.

  1. gimpykatk says:

    That’s a great sweater, I am afraid I’d never figure out how to alter it like you did, I am so sweater challenged.

  2. Nell says:

    I love that pattern. It’s always a baby shower winner.

  3. kadinsam says:

    for my baby good that on

Leave a Reply

