The green death flavor, please.

I had all kinds of ideas floating around in my head for posting, but they’re gone, replaced by that not-quite-stuffy feeling you get in the back of your head to let you know a cold is on it’s way.  Tonight I’ll be driving by Wally-World to pick myself up some liquid life, even though it tastes like death.  I know they make cherry flavor and even those fancy-pants pills that you can swallow without ever having to taste anything, but I want to know that I’m going to feel better.  I don’t like my relief to just sneak up on me…one minute I’m lying there, the pattern of the couch cushion imprinted on my cheek, sweat pouring down my face, nose raw from cheap tissues, the next I’m awake, sitting up and watching Maury while knitting on whatever is next to me.  That’s not very exciting.  If I have to suffer the slings and arrows of the common cold because someone can’t keep their ass home when they’re sick (I’m looking directly at you, cubicle neighbor), then I should be able to experience my recovery as well.  Green death reminds me of healing.  The bitter nasty that slides down your throat and threatens to make you throw it all back up is what I’m talking about!  The thrill of victory as you manage to get a full dose down, and I don’t mean a soup-spoon.  That’s not a true tablespoon and you know it, so no cheating.  By the time you’re able to scour the taste out of your mouth you’re feeling better;sleepy, even.  Ah, rest.  Blissful, peaceful sleep.  Wake up in the morning and maybe even want to get a shower.  Maybe wash your hair!  Drink a cup of coffee!  Hell, let’s get nutty and drink a glass of o.j.  You can actually taste it! 

Anyway, that’s what I’ll be doing tonight in an effort to not take any time off work.  If I don’t see you tomorrow, have a great weekend!

One comment on “The green death flavor, please.

  1. gimpykatk says:

    Oh man, I hope you find yourself feeling good as new by morning.

Leave a Reply

