Tuesdays are usually for spinning.

Unless you get a virus.

And I don’t mean in the belly.

While I was away for the weekend visiting my brother (more on that later), Knithubby was playing around on the internets and wham!  Windows started flying open, nothing would stay, just flicker on and off…my quick thinking hubby grabbed the main power cord and off it went, but the damage was done.  The virus got into our Windows program, so the start bar would bounce on and off, icons would randomly disappear, and I couldn’t make it better.  I called Gateway, who informed me that my one-year limited warranty was expired, but they could help me for the low, low price of $59.95 for 30 minutes.  Are you freaking kidding me?  I don’t think so.  Monday night I tried to manually find and extract the virus, getting only 2 hours of sleep and having no success.  Last night I updated my anti-virus program, ran a sweep, found FOUR virus threads with 174 traces throughout, put the offenders in quarantine, and did a little google-fu to find a way to get rid of the interloper.  I found that MS Windows OneCare offers a 90 day free trial, so I installed the program (with broadband it only takes about 15-20 minutes), and let it do its thang.  In 5 minutes I was virus-free.  No lie.  I was so happy, I celebrated by going straight to bed.  I didn’t even correct the awful, awful Kitchener job I did on a pair of Christmas socks while at knit night on Monday.  That can be taken care of tonight.  Also, no spinning, but I have a new spindle on its way to me, so I imagine I will be spending a disproportionate amount of time this weekend making sweet spindley love to it.  (TMI?  Not to my spinning friends, it’s not!)

I have been working diligently on my Christmas knitting, but I must confess that my list is ever-changing and developing in response to my psychological needs.  For instance, Baby K was supposed to get a new sweater, but he will likely get a hat now.  My mother was going to get the February Lady sweater, which was downgraded to the Friday scarf, but will now likely be a pair of mittens, but in fair-isle, to give it that added value we all so desperately crave in our Christmas gifts.  I don’t know why we as knitters worry so much about the added value, most of our recipients’ don’t know the difference either way.  I mean, will my 6 year old niece understand the difference between a fair-isle or cabled tam versus a bulky weight wool cap?  Not likely, she is a good egg and will love it and wear it either way, but I know.  I know I didn’t do the absolute most of my knitting ability on this cap.  So what?  I still took the time to knit her a gift, right?  It’s just not the same, and don’t ask me why, because I don’t know.

R had his open-heart surgery on Tuesday last week.  Everything went so well, even the doctors were amazed.  They said the aneurysm in the valve they replaced was so swollen that the valve was paper-thin.  It was a flat out miracle that he hadn’t already dropped dead.  That is the sort of medical anomaly that amazes me, I mean, somehow his heart held on long enough to get a replacement.  And the replacement valve itself!  It’s artificial, so it’s supposed to live for, like, 40 or 50 years!  Amazing!  He was sitting in his recliner on Sunday and I could hear it ticking (sounds like a wristwatch).  Amazing!  One of my buddies on Ravelry sent me a pattern for a knitted heart, and if I have time I am going to make it for him for Christmas…scratch that.  I AM making him one for Christmas.  Top of my list.  If anyone deserves added value this year, it’s him.

One comment on “Tuesdays are usually for spinning.

  1. SoullooN says:

    It is wonderful about the heart surgery. I am happy to see you on, bummer about the virus, but great about the fix. I am prayin for you all. Peace

Leave a Reply

