Oh, yeah. I watched it.

http://health.discovery.com/convergence/duggars/duggarfamily.html

I kind of like these guys.  There are a lot of things that Michelle Duggar does as a mother and wife that I look up to.  I know that most people out there don’t agree with the Quiverfull Movement because they do not believe that a woman stands equal to a man in the household hierarchy, and they think a woman really doesn’t need any education outside a high school diploma because she is basically there to have kids.  For the record, I don’t agree with this belief.  I do agree with a peaceful home, loving parents, and gentle discipline.  I think they have done a great job of raising bright, respectful children-especially considering how many they have.  Personally, one is enough for me right now, maybe one more in a couple of years, and then we’ll see.  No way would I be up for 18 kids, but then again, with her organization and their money smarts, who’s to say the average person couldn’t do it?  Some people get angry because the older kids have to help the younger ones with things like washing up, breakfast, and homework.  My grandparents all came from huge families, because that was just the way those old farmers did it.  They managed to feed them all and you better believe they were helping out as soon as they were old enough.  They all turned out reasonably well, I think.  There’s a pretty hot debate on Ravelry about all this, and I had to remove myself from it, because people were condemning this family in particular because they didn’t believe in that religious movement.  That’s not really fair, is it?  Don’t hate the player, hate the game.

Leave a Reply

