On Getting Together with Friends.

I can’t really claim to be a person who has very many friendships, but I often want to be friends with people I meet.  Given my background I feel an almost obsessive need for people to like me.  My dad’s a minister for the Wesleyan church, and if there’s a church that needs a new minister the district will contact anyone that might be a good fit, then that person has to “make a bid” for the church.  They have to show up one Sunday, preach a sermon, and stay to meet the board members.  If the board likes you best, you get the job.  Well, let me tell you, it’s not just about being a good minister.  My parents were offered one church only on the condition that they wear no jewelry, including wedding rings.  My parents had three young children at the time, and needed the money, so off came the wedding rings.  They are still in my mom’s dresser, tied together on a white ribbon.  Another church told my dad they wouldn’t be hiring him because he wore a beard and a colored tie.  Oh, yeah.  You can’t make this stuff up.  So obviously, when it comes to meeting new people I don’t really know how to be myself.  Do I really laugh as loud as I want to?  Should I crack that joke?  Are my clothes modest enough?  Trendy enough?  Am I rich enough?  Poor enough? 

I have started hanging out with some people I met on Ravelry.  We meet on Mondays, get drinks and knit for awhile.  I decided this time around to just be myself.  If it works, that’s great.  I hope it does.  I really like these girls.

PCP (Pretty Cool Podcast) of the moment: Brown Eyed Mom.

She is totally down-to-earth, and we share a lot of similar values.  It’s also very interesting to hear from someone on the other side of the country!  I hope she keeps up this great podcast.

Leave a Reply

